Barchester Care Awards 2021 Categories

Our Barchester Care Awards celebrate excellence in the quality of care we provide, by recognising those individuals and teams that make a difference to the lives of the residents and patients we support.

The 16 categories have been created to reflect excellence in a whole variety of roles across the company, ranging from ‘Registered Nurse of the Year’, to ‘Learner or the Year’ and ‘Health and Saftey Champion’ and the ‘Customer Service Award’.

This years’ national winners of the Barchester Care Awards will be announced at the award ceremony on Wednesday 13th October 2021.

Nomination are now closed. 

The categories this year are:

1. Carer of the Year

This award recognises the vital role of the carers in providing quality care to the residents, patients and relatives we support and their role in supporting the home or hospital team. Showcasing dedication, sensitive handling of matters of importance to residents or patients, and enhancing the lives of those in their care will all be taken into account.

2. Registered Nurse of the Year

This award will be given to a Registered Nurse who has demonstrated a high level of dedication to the staff teams, residents, patients and relatives they support, in addition to maintaining training and demonstrating outstanding clinical and leadership skills.

3. Learner of the Year

This award is for an individual who exhibits enthusiasm and commitment to their learning and on-going career development. They will have developed their skills through opportunities provided by Barchester, and can demonstrate how their training has helped them to provide a higher standard of care and support, and show how it has contributed to their career development.

4. Dementia Care Champion

This award will be given to an individual who has championed person-centred care for those living with dementia. The winner will able to showcase how they have made a real difference to the lives of residents living with dementia in our homes or hospitals.

5. Activities Coordinator of the Year

This individual will have made an exceptional contribution to the health and happiness of the residents or patients they support in organising relevant and engaging lifestyle opportunities. They will be able to showcase a wide range of activities that interest and stimulate the physical and mental well-being of residents and patients and how it supports care plans.

6. Hospitality Champion

Providing excellent hospitality within a care home or hospital is vital for the well-being of residents, patients and relatives. This award will be made to an outstanding individual within a hospitality role who can demonstrate the passion, commitment and teamwork needed to make a real difference to those living within our homes and hospitals.

7. Team of the Year

Teamwork is key at Barchester. By working as a team with our colleagues on shift, in the wider home, with support teams or with external partners we can make a positive impact on the care delivered to our residents, patients and relatives. This award will be made to a staff team who have developed and maintained an outstanding standard of care and customer experience, and a team ethos within their care setting.

8. Maintenance Champion

The award recognises a maintenance team member who has displayed excellence and diligence within their discipline. This individual will have positively influenced residents, relatives, and staff colleagues whilst carrying out the responsibilities of their role. Excellent maintenance standards, a safe environment and statutory documentation will all be paramount when selecting the winner of this award.

9. Home Administrator of the Year 

The winner of this award will be an individual who carries out the daily tasks of their role to a high standard and how their contribution has had a positive impact on both the residents and staff within their home or hospital. The winner will also have demonstrated an ability to provide a high level of support to families, residents or patients and their colleagues.

10. Community Engagement Award 

This award recognises the contribution made by a Community Engagement Team or individual to establish their home or hospital as part of the local community. This team will be able to demonstrate how they have engaged with local community groups and showcase the positive effect the community engagement has had on resident well-being.

11. Barchester's Charitable Foundation Award

This award recognises a Barchester employee or resident who has demonstrated outstanding support to Barchester’s Charitable Foundation and its work within the community. This individual will either have supported an application on behalf of someone in their local community or led fundraising and promotion on behalf of the Foundation.

12. Health and Safety Champion

The award recognises the outstanding contribution made by the nominated Health and Safety Champion in the pursuit of safety within Barchester. The successful individual has embodied the principles of safety first as a dedicated and committed team player. Through influence and challenge, the champion has driven forward standards of excellence and ensured that safety has been maintained for the benefit of, residents, patients, colleagues and visitors. This award recognises such achievement in the promotion of a positive safety culture through the provision of appropriate support and encouragement.

13. Care Practitioner of the Year

This award recognises the outstanding contribution of an individual to the clinical team within the home. The winner will be able to demonstrate how the Care Practitioner role has enhanced their care delivery for their residents and has supported and developed carers within the home.

14. Chef of the Year

This award will be made to a chef who shows exceptional ability in providing well-balanced, nutritious and delicious food, as well as tailoring menus to residents’ preferences and dietary requirements. The winner will be able to demonstrate how food hygiene standards have been met within the home or hospital.

15. Customer Service Champion

This award will be made to a team member who demonstrates a high level of customer care for residents, families, colleagues or the wider community of the home including health care professionals. The winner will be able to demonstrate how they interact with others in a positive, enthusiastic and cheerful manner acting as a role model for others and creating a warm, friendly and supportive home or hospital environment.

16. Garden of the Year

This award recognises an outstanding garden that significantly enhances the quality of life of residents, relatives and staff. This well maintained and beautifully created garden will use a variety of seasonal plants and colours to provide interest all year round, as well as creative displays and provision for wildlife (such as bird feeders). This accessible garden will provide a range of seating, and areas for outdoor activities.

Nominations are now closed.